Weekly Vinyl – Barry White

23 Jun

The Best of Barry White
Barry White
(1977)

Wow!!!
K-Tel presents the best of Barry White.
You get all the hits.
20.
Count them … Twenty of Barry’s greatest hits. You can listen to them in the privacy of your recreation room with friends and loved ones.
What could be better?
Perhaps only an album titled the Very Best of Barry White.
But I don’t have that one. I just have this one.
I’ll settle for these 20 and slow groove to the funky beat, the heavy orchestration, and the golden bass-baritone voice that just drips with passion and love.
This is the 70s in a nutshell.
And it is a K-Tel record. I think this is my only one. K-Tel was a company that did hard sell commercials touting compilation albums. I have no idea what they are up to now.
But this album is so 1970s it hurts. Barry White was brilliant. 40 years ago I probably dismissed him as I was into prog-rock, punk and all that. But now I can listen to this syrypy smooth music and groove.

Leave a Reply

