Weekly Wine – Bad Grigio

14 Jun

Fantini Farnese Pinot Grigio
2015
Italy
750ml
12% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

I have written that most Pinot Grigio wines in this price category are OK at worst.
A very few are great but most are very average.
I have thought, and probably written, that it is hard to make a bad Pinot Grigio.

And then I bought this bottle,
Truth be told I had been sampling better wines and exotic liquors from less trodden parts of Europe earlier in the evening.
But.
This wine is sour. At first and subsequent taste.
This wine is not very pleasant.
This wine could be a whole lot better.
Once the first shock of taste had passed and I settled into this wine  – my opinion had not changed.
This is the first Pinot Grigio that I do not like.
What does this bottle win? . . .  A badge of dishonour although the label sports two medals from Vienna and Lyon attesting to its quality.
Perhaps I got a bad bottle – but that has never happened to me at the LCBO – si I have to go with what I have.
Bad Pinot Grigio.

Leave a Reply

