Weekly Wine – Mosel

7 Jun

Schmitt Sohne Mosel Gold Riesling
2015
Germany
750ml
11% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

I thought that this wine would give me instant diabetes.
When I picked it up at the store I thought it would be sweet and just shrugged – accepting my fate.
It is sweet – but not too excessively. Perhaps I’m a bit biased because I’m having a bit of a sweet-tooth crisis at the moment and enjoying sweet stuff. This wine fits this bill I guess.
It is fruity – that is to be expected. It has the taste of an early harvest basket – pears, apples and peaches predominantly. The wine has a nice crispness to it. A nice little bite. There are no harsh over or undertones – except for the sweetness.
I like the look of the bottle but the label makes it look like an inexpensive wine. The back label has a caricature of a stereotypical German in lederhosen which also adds to the ambiance of cheap frivolity. If the labelling gets fixed, I’m sure they’ll start charging more for this wine.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

