Weekly Wine – Citra Sangiovese

15 Feb

Citra Sangiovese Terre di Chieti
2016
Italy
750ml
13% ABV
$7.95 (LCBO)

I had no idea I had reviewed this wine before – in 2013.
The label is new.
My eyes are old.
The wine is now 50 cents more expensive and this bottle is from a vintage four years older.
I did not really like this wine then. It was harsh and unrefined.
Today … I don’t mind it at all.
It is acidic around the edges. It has a bark and a bite. It has a deep crimson colour. And there are cherries. You can taste the cherries, sour and the others, in abundance along with hits of other summer fruit.
I honestly did not think that there would be such a big difference in these inexpensive wines based on the harvest year. It is truly astounding. I have reread the old review and take everything back, although I do stand by my words. While the 2012 vintage left a lot to be desired the 2016 vintage is a keeper – well just buy it and drink it.

Leave a Reply

