Weekly Wine – Southern Shiraz

14 Sep

0914toshirazTwo Oceans Shiraz
2015
SouthAfrica
750ml
14% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

I didn’t like the first sip of this wine.
It was heavy and hit me like a ton of bricks.
It was sharp and cut my palate brusquely. My tongue was on fire.
I have to explain that I was working all day ripping apart my office/studio – cleaning every nook and cranny.
This shiraz was not what the doctor ordered.
However – I persisted in drinking this wine and was greatly rewarded.
Yes, it is spicy and harsh and full bodied – but it is a nice raw experience. An assault on the senses. It is saying – I might be inexpensive but taste the glory that I am. The flavour is simple and sublime and is in fact hidden by the sharpness of the wine.
No matter.
I have gone from not much liking this wine to contemplating this as a go to wine for the winter months in a mere two-and-a-half glasses.
Well done for this wine.

Leave a Reply

