Bussing

6 Jun

image

Bus travel used to be the way North America moved. It was the way the world moves.

I’m trying to find the statistics on this but it is quite difficult.
I’m on a bus. It is a nice bus with WiFi and a 120 volt connector so my IPod doesn’t run out of juice. The Internet connectivity is just ok, it is a little slow and for some reason YouTube does not work. Hmmm…. I’m reminded of that Louis C. K. bit where he gets apoplectic about people who do not appreciate the marvels of current technology. His bugbear is. Guy complaining Internet on a plane. I’m not complaining – just commenting.
But reading statistical info on an iPad on a bouncing bus is difficult. There are many tiny numbers referring to passenger miles driven in a light duty vehicle with a short wheelbase (don’t mention the car) and whatnot. I started to compile this in a spreadsheet to make the numbers more accessible for me and you but gave up when the iPod kept slipping off my lap. (There are no airplane style tables on the bus. A major over site and my only real complaint about bus travel.) I’m also resisting the urge to consult Wikipedia – it is a lazy way to do it.
While pure statistics won’t make it here – various articles and reports do state that bus travel is growing in North America. This is because it is inexpensive. My trip from Toronto to New York costs a bit over 40 bucks. The bus is full to capacity. I take this trip every once I a while and the bus rarely has spare seats. And why not – it is cheap, relatively comfortable, has WiFi and gets you there Ina reasonable amount of time.
It takes a bit over 10 hours for this trip. Where I to fly. The flight itself would be about an hour. Plus you have to be at the airport three hours before the flight. The flight lands at Laguardia or JFK and that is far from the centre of Manhattan where the bus drops you off. So in effect the bus journey is only twice as long and as I’m doing the night bus, I usually just sleep and peruse the Interweb.
But the bus rolls on and adventure awaits…

One Response to “Bussing”

  1. IntrovertMatt June 17, 2016 at 10:18 AM #

    Great post šŸ™‚ I wrote a similar one a few days ago. Buses > Everything. As long as it’s the cheaper alternative.

Leave a Reply

