Weekly Vinyl – Morricone

27 May

I Western
Ennio Morricone
(1971)

SONY DSC

Just the first sounds of this album made my heart flutter. The theme from “The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.” Or one of the other classic spaghetti westerns that made Sergio Leon, the film director, and Ennio Morricone, the music composer, household names the world over.
An album full of this.
Wow!
I’m going to play this album all the time… I thought.
Then I listened to it. There are great moments here but these are interspersed with some fairly standard, quite poor frankly, songs. Kinda like Gilbert and Sullivan and a bad day.
I think I picked this album up in Switzerland way back when and for some reason never listened to it. The album I have is an Italian pressing so the liner notes are all in Italian.
There are movie posters on the back but I do not recognize most of the movies.
But that’s OK. The good music really balances out the stuff I don’t quite like. This is a really cool album.

Leave a Reply

