Weekly Wine – Caliterra

11 May

SONY DSC

Caliterra Reserva
2014
Chile
750ml
13.5% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

I’m sipping this wine late at night and I’m trying to decide if I like it or not.
So much of whether a person likes a wine or not at a given time is based on one’s mood.
I’m distracted and am not giving the wine my full attention. This is not out o the ordinary actually. In this case the wine is asking me for my attention. It is not whispering, Judge me, judge me!” More likely it is saying, “don’t ignore me.”
I switch gears, put on some good music and focus on the wine.
This sip is different than the first ones. The wine has breathed. It has changed. The fist sips were sharp and poignant. These ones have mellowed although a sharp aftertaste remains. The wine is not heavy and has a nice delicate flavour. I’m actually quite surprised that the flavour changed after it was left to aerate for a few minutes. Wines at this price point tend not to be so delicate.
I like this wine – now that I’ve paid it some well-deserved attention.

 

Leave a Reply

