Weekly Wine – La Croix

6 Apr

La Croix D’Azur Savignon Blanc
2011
France
750ml
11.5% ABV
$10.00 (LCBO)

This wine cost ten dollars. Right on the nose. I set out to review wines that cost under ten dollars. So this wine sets up a quandary for me.
To review or not to review?
This calls for some wine to ponder this dilemma.
Luckily this wine is quite excellent. It is very nice and light. There are some nice fruit flavours in the mix – I can kind of taste some apple and lemon if I really strain my senses.
It is a bit acidic, but I do not have a problem with that. The acidity actually reminds me of lemon rind that you get with cocktail drinks – not everybody’s cup of tea but I kind of like it.
It is a nice wine, but did the makers, did the LCBO, really need that extra penny, (or nickel – Canada does not have pennies officially), that makes this wine seemingly ineligible to be considered a sub-ten dollar wine?
With the Canadian dollar trading poorly – I’ll include this in my listings – plus it is a nice wine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

