Weekly Wine –Two Oceans SB

2 Mar

SONY DSC

Two Oceans Sauvignon Blanc
2015
South Africa
750ml
13% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

If you look closely at the label on this wine bottle you will notice that there are these printed squiggles on the scene of the land jutting into the sea. When the light hits the bottle just right they will jump out. Otherwise they are fairly muted.
I write this because I am really at a loss for words on this wine. It is a nice, light, classy white wine. It doesn’t really stand out though.
It is OK.
Just OK.
I am trying to muster the muscles and the senses that will give me something about this wine that but the simple OK. There are hints of fruits and berries but they are very muted and not meant to stand out or offend. The label recommends, “Great with: Thai dishes, chicken, grilled fish, shellfish and nuts.” I look in my kitchen and see I’m out of luck in these categories. Will a can of tuna do? Should I order Thai?
This wine is OK, spectacularly OK.

 

Leave a Reply

