Weekly Vinyl – Mitch’s House

15 Jan

Communical Expressions Vol. 1
MitchWinthorp
(1991)

SONY DSC
I pulled this album out and had no idea what it was.
I like the plain white packaging. The black title is glued on – it is printed, photocopied perhaps, on plain paper.
This is DIY – true heart of music.
The sound is quite competent house music. It isn’t bad … does it get me dancing?
Not really – I’m drinking Bulgarian wine. But my toes are a tappin’.
And I feel good.
The music has live elements (recorded instruments) and sampled musical riffs. Sitting in a quiet environment and listening to the music on a half decent stereo, you can tell them apart easily. This album is from 1991 – the sampling technology was quite primitive by today’s standards. I have several instruments of this vintage and the difference is astounding.
There’s about 20 minutes of music on this record so it would probably be considered an extended EP back in the day. The music is a kind of House music – background, danceable … quite agreeable. Nothing really stands out musically here though.
But I love the DIY feel of the disc.

Leave a Reply

