Weekly Wine – Era

30 Dec

Vento01Era Vento
2014
Italy
750ml
12.5% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

This is a nicely packaged wine that I mistook for a more expensive plonk right off the bat. Many inexpensive wines go for flashier labels to entice the consumer to pick up the bottle. I believe that a product, be it wine, cereal or books, has but a few measly seconds to attract a consumers eye. Once the eye is attracted then the attached hand can pick the product up. On my treks to stores of the Liquor Control Board of Ontario, I look at the flash and the price. I am always suspicious of a very flashy label or “hip” name as it is usually a sign where the money, instead of going into the winemaking, went into the marketing of the wine.
This wine is actually quite nice. It is even organic. It is also quite dry – so-much-so that I felt I should have a glass of water after I nearly finished my first glass of wine. Instead I had some more wine, nibbled on some nice Appenzell cheese and was quite content.

Leave a Reply

