Weekly Wine – Thalia

23 Dec

SONY DSC

Thalia Sauvignon Blanc Vilana
Year: N/A
Greece
750ml
12% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

Wines from Greece are usually sketchy at this price point, so I took my first sip with great trepidation.
The immediate reaction was a bit confusing because it came off sourish but it was not that bad. IT is a dry crisp wine and the sourness does not really hurt the taste. This wine was chilled and I was drinking it in a cold environment so some of the flavours could not escape but the wine was over all quite good. The colour is a rather deep yellow and there are hints of citrus in this wine. Further sips had me convinced that this wine, although not a great wine at the price point was a good buy for under ten bucks. The sourness did not really bother me much and I wonder whether it is just a tad too acidic for me on my first taste. Sometimes in a wine the first impression is not the best if your palate is not clear.

Leave a Reply

