Weekly Vinyl – Not Diamond

11 Dec

Jonathan Livingston Seagull (Diana)
Neil Diamond (Diana Ross)
(1972 (1980))
SONY DSC
This was a garage sale buy. One of those, “box for ten bucks buys.”
I was never a big fan of Neil Diamond but I liked the book Jonathan Livingston Seagull.
Imagine my surprise. I put the record on – not checking the disk’s label and instead of a male voice crooning to me I got a full blast of pop music. Diana Ross.
I don’t have her music in my collection.
Well, now I do.
I was disappointed and confused. I was ready for Neil Diamond. Not Diana Ross.
I could not appreciate her music as I listened to it.
It was pop. It was 80s pop. It was nice music. Her voice is great.
But there was nothing here about a seagull wanting to be an individual.
So I grooved a bit to Diana.
It was OK.

Leave a Reply

