Weekly Wine – Obikwa

2 Sep

SONY DSCObikwa Shiraz
2014
South Africa
750ml
13.5% ABV
$9.45 (LCBO)

There is a bite to this wine that troubles me.
It is there with every sip. It is there even after I nosh on something.
This bite, which hits me back in the throat, distracts me from enjoying this wine.
It is fruity, but what fruits do I taste? There’s that bite!
It is dry but a bit sweet. I don’t know. I can’t tell. There’s that bite!
Such a shame. Is it the sulphites? Is it the wine? I can’t tell, there’s that bite!
The wine in this pleasant looking bottle is disappointing because of that bite. It denotes cheapness and a lack of finesse.
However, the label proudly tells me that the container is a “eco-friendly lightweight bottle.”
Well at least that’s something.

 

 

Leave a Reply

