Weekly Wine – LosMolinos

27 May

SONY DSC

Los Molinos Tempranillo
2013
Spain
750ml
13% ABV
$9.20 (SAQ – Société des alcools du Québec)

I was in Québec and my first stop was at a dépanneur (a variety (convenience) store) to see if I could find something to my liking. There were only one or two bottles in my chosen price range and they were very suspicious looking. I was not in the mood to spill out wine that evening. The selection at a nearby gas station was also not too my liking.
I hit a government liquor store and I had ample selection in my price range.
And this bottle is good. Spicy, tart and lively. It has a nice bite and exhibits no unpleasant aftertaste. It went very well with the meagre snacks I had in the hotel room, an apple and a power bar, and livened up the mindless drivel that was on the TV that evening.
I like the tempranillo grape. It is distinctive and gives a nice full bodied taste without being too heavy and sombre. I’ll have to look for this wine in Ontario.

Leave a Reply

