Weekly Wine – Day Trippers

6 May

SONY DSC

Full name
2013
Australia
750ml
12% ABV
$6.45 (LCBO)

I was so happy to see this wine.
First point – I liked the image of the scooter. I have one and I miss not riding it in the winter. It also needs some maintenance work – but that’s another story.
Second point – This wine is Australian and that usually denotes half decent wine inb the lower price category. Plus, I really like Australia, the little bit that I got to experience, and I wish I could go back.
Third point – This wine is criminally cheap. $6.45 for an Aussie wine. The bottle, the label, the cap and the shipping (never mind the taxes, the middlemen, the mark-ups etc.) alone must mean this wine is cheaper than water drunk out of a lake.
Fourth point – This wine is not bad. IT is not great but it will easily rival wines at twice the price. The label said it goes great with “sea foods, salads and Asian cuisine.” We had it with pork and roast potatoes on an evening where the mercury dropped to minus 30 Celsius.
Yea – it was fine. I’m happy this wine is here. It will be a staple when the warm weather arrives and the scooter is on the road.

Leave a Reply

