Weekly Wine – Oggi Red

4 Feb

SONY DSCDoppio Passo Botter Primitivo Salento IGT
2013
Italy
750ml
13% ABV
$9.95 (LCBO)

I have to admit that the first swig of this wine did not sit too well on the palate. It was a bit strange. I had a hit of sulphites and something else that I could not identiy. The full bouquet of flavours in this wine, cherries and raspberries in the forefront, did its best to mast the first taste.
Was it me or the wine?
I was thinking of grabbing something to eat to clear my palate but it was late and I decided to just take another swing.
This time it was much better. I guess the first taste was me. Perhaps I got confused by the fruitiness of the wine. It is quite pronounced even though the wine is quite dry.
I reviewed the white wine from this winery, and it was OK. This wine is also that, OK. The label is nice and the wine is rather pleasant on subsequent sampling. There is a bit of unpleasant aftertaste that lingers on the tongue, but that would disappear if I had some nice dark German bread and some stinky cheese.
But it’s too late for that.
I’ll just brush my teeth very well before I turn in for the night.

Leave a Reply

