Weekly Wine – Riesling

5 Nov

SONY DSCJaszbery Etyek-Budai Riesling
2012
Hungary
750ml
12.5% ABV
$8.95 (LCBO)

I approached this wine with great trepidation.
I had the
red wine a while ago. It used to be one of my favourite wines but it is nearly undrinkable now.
Ominously, this wine has a similar label – which incidentally is a very lovely label. It is the same winery.
My fears are warranted I think.

I tossed the bottle into the freezer. I need this wine chilled to the point before freezing occurs. I do have bad feelings about this wine.

The wine is cold and not bad. But then again, at about 3 degrees Celsius, there is not much taste. There is just a body of wine.
As the wine warms up to the recommended temperature of between 8 and 10 degrees Celsius, the flavours start to kick in. They are not too pleasant. The sulphites are there but also something metallic. It is a weird off flavour.
Back to the freezer this bottle goes.

Leave a Reply

