Weekly Vinyl – Ray Charles

27 Jun

Dansez Le Twist!
Ray Charles
(1962)
SONY DSC
I got this one is Switzerland. In Winterthur’s market where many of the townsfolk sell their used items. It is a citywide garage sale set in an historic town centre.
What I liked about this album is that it is made of that heavy, heavy vinyl. It feels like an old 78 record. Because of the excellent vinyl the sound is very good.
Unlike most of the albums I picked up at this market, this one had the most dishevelled cover. It must have been played a lot. And listening to this I can see why.
This is beautiful classic blues music. I can’t imagine anybody not liking it. When the first notes came from the turntable I felt like Elwood Blues from the movie Blues Brothers, where Ray Charles appeared, starting his turntable going in his tiny one room apartment.
It’s the blues and I feel very happy listening to it.
Go figure.

Leave a Reply

