Weekly Vinyl – Chris Spedding

8 Mar

Friday the 13th
Chris Spedding
(1981)
SONY DSC
I bought this album after I saw Chris Spedding play a concert in Edmonton many moons ago. Spedding was touring with John Cale and I was in Edmonton visiting friends and partaking in some skiing in the Rockies. It was an excellent concert.
The concert featured music that was not on this album. I remember being initially slightly disappointed with this album because it was not the experimental music I had heard at the concert. After listening some more I really started to like this album. I still do.
This is a great bar-room band album. I honestly do not know why every cover band in the world does not play Spedding’s song Guitar Jamboree. He shows his versatility by mimicking a bunch of different guitarists in one song – Why no other guitar slingers do this as part of their act is a mystery to me.
Chris Spedding is a great guitarist, this is a great album. I’m happy to get reacquainted with it

Leave a Reply

