Weekly Wine – Boyar

19 Jun

SONY DSC

Domaine Boyar Cabernet Sauvignon
2011
Bulgaria
750ml
13% ABV
$7.95 (LCBO)
Bulgarian wine. To some this might sound like a frightening idea since Bulgaria is not well known as a wine producing country. I’ve had Bulgarian wine before. While I was in Poland as the whole system was crumbling in the late eighties and early nineties. You bought wine to have a change of pace from the vodka/beer standards. The wine that was readily available was Sophia — named after the capital of Bulgaria no doubt. All I remember is that this wine did not make anybody sick. It was unremarkable to say the least.
Now this wine is remarkable in that it is the first wine that I have tried since starting these reviews where the taste matches the price. There is a harsh edge to it. A kind of strange feeling, a sourness, as it washes down the back of my throat. The label proclaims there are sulphites and I think they are here in spades.
I took a look at all the reviews I’ve done so far and this is not the least expensive wine but this is the first wine that I’m not impressed with.
Drinkable? Sure. But only if you are normally ping-ponging in a vodka/beer loop.

Leave a Reply

