Weekly Wine – Misterio

29 May

SONY DSCMisterio Cabernet Sauvignon
2012
Argentina
750ml
13.5% ABV
$8.95 (LCBO)
This is one of my standby wines. I like this wine. It has character. There is a sharpness to it. A little bit of bite. It is just enough to get the senses moving, but not overpowering them. There is very little aftertaste and the little there is quite tame, which is nice considering the spicy bite one gets at the first quaff. It is a very fine wine for the price. Perhaps one of the better wines at this price point — I haven’t gone through all of them yet. It is another wine from Argentina but I won’t make any Falkland – Malvinas cracks this time.
The label is intriguing. The carved mask logo or whatnot. It reminds me of one of the Tintin books where he is in some hellhole South/Central American country during a revolution and a mask serves as some kind of talisman. I read the book about 30 years ago so I have no real clear recollection of the plot or motivation of the characters. The mask strikes me as similar though. Perhaps on a subliminal level that is why I picked up this wine for the first time so many years ago.

Leave a Reply

