Weekly Wine – Monte Cheval

17 Apr

SONY DSCPlantaze Monte Cheval Vranac
2009
Montenegro
750ml
13% ABV
$9.60 (LCBO)

To be honest I was not really expecting much from this wine. The label looks like it was only slightly updated from the country’s communist era. I’ve had wine from these regions before. I particularly remember a really nice white wine I had in Krakow in 1989. The wine was made in Kosovo. I’m not making this up – although my opinion on the quality of wine at that juncture is relative since wine was a rarity and I drank two bottles of it for lunch. I have fond memories of that day and will give an obscure wine a chance, especially if it carries a reasonable price. The wine is fine. Worth the price of admission. Unlike most wines in this price range it comes with a cork. The cork in my bottle broke in half when I was opening the bottle (an inauspicious start) but this did not set me back for too long. The back label claims that this wine will improve if kept for several years but honestly – drink this wine now.

Leave a Reply

