Interview interuptus

8 Apr

I’m a writer – a journalist. When I call people for a story that I am working on, I identify myself, my profession and the publication the story will appear in. I ask if it is okay to ask them questions. I had an interview recently where after over 40 minutes of conversation, as I was saying my thanks, the person said, “Oh, but don’t quote me.”

This should be stated at the beginning. Not at the end. You are talking to a journalist. You will be quoted. That is the whole point of the exercise. This person obviously won’t be quoted, but what he told me will make me seem smarter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

