Weekly Vinyl – The Romantic Cello Music of Spain

1 Mar

The Romantic Cello Music of Spain
Janos Starker
(1968)
SONY DSC
When I pulled this album out of the stack I though that this was just going to be a run of the mill classical album. I like the cello. I like the sound it makes – the deeply melodic, soulful sound. I gave it a listen and was impressed. The music was not as “romantic” as I thought. I was expecting much more saccharine pap and what I heard was quite pleasant but not entirely memorable. The album has descriptions of the musical pieces presented on this recording and this makes for some interesting reading. I did a quick search on Wikipedia in a vain hope that I would find out something more about the cellist, Janos Starker, than was given in the notes on the cover. Behold, this is not some little vanity project by an obscure cellist. This guy, Starker, has over 160 recordings to his name and apparently recorded all works composed for the cello.

Leave a Reply

